Admittedly, I have not seen as much of the world as I would like! This is a personal mission of mine…with a preferable timeline of “before kids.”

I did, however, go on my first big adventure with my husband this last summer to Greece…more specifically to Santorini, Paros, and Mykonos. This experience taught me a few things about open mindedness and adventure that I will always take with me.

1) Go With the Flow! 

I had my heart set on a day spent on a boat, swimming in the middle of the ocean into caves and beautiful rock formations. I was so excited about this tour, it was all I could talk about for days!  But…the tour we booked didn’t pick us up as scheduled. Cue disappointment! So…we made our own journey and traveled over to the main port, found a ferry to Antiparos , hopped on a hot sticky bus to the complete other side of the island, and happened upon Captain Sargos, a little boat that does ocean and cave tours! We spent the day at a private beach on Despotiko (an uninhabited island), and then swimming in the caves. (Be sure to pack your own drinks, and snacks. Also, definitely try his homemade wine that he shares towards the end of the ride)

Moral of the story- just enjoy the day and find an adventure.

Greece Beach

2) Rent a Four Wheeler or Moped

I’m sure you have all seen images of tourists on four wheelers or mopeds cruising around European streets. So I’m here to confirm that you should definitely do this! In Santorini our four wheeler brought us to Perissa, a black sand beach on one end of the island, and then up to Oia where the sunsets are world renowned! People literally fill the streets just to see the sun sink into the ocean. Note: Get there early and set up in a good spot! It can be very crowded.

In Mykonos, our experience was quite different as our rickety four wheeler decided to break down on us in the middle of one of many hills along the way. Luckily for us, after some cussing, sweating, jumping up and down, and pushing, we happened upon a car repair shop. They got us fixed up, and we enjoyed the rest of the day at Paradise Beach cooling off with Strawberry Daiquiris and clear blue water.

blue four wheeler

3) Make a New Friend

My husband is southern…which means we talk to everyone along the way. You may not really be in to that, but I would recommend giving it a try! We met some amazing people that we are still in touch with today. (Hope you friends get to read this! If so- HEY! and we hope to see you soon!) In fact, if it weren’t for taking the time to meet the folks around me I would have been stranded in the Athens airport for days! Blog post on that one to come.

In summary, travel is a time to come out of your shell, learn about yourself, and try new things!

and then I realized...ADVENTURESare the

Leave a Reply

